Universiteit Leiden

nl en
Subject guide

Political Science

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Political Science

Subjects Political theory, Political philosophy, Research methods, Political institutions, Democracy, Democratization, Political parties, party systems and elections, Dutch politics, Political communication, International relations and organisations, European Union, Political violence, Political and social movements, Political economy
Materials Books, reference works and journals (print and online), databases
Languages English and Dutch

The political science collection and especially the more recent publications  since 2000 are part of the collection of the Social and Behavioral Sciences Library. The University Library also holds publications in the field of political science.

The collection of the Social and Behavioural Sciences Library is placed in open stacks and easily accessible. The books are arranged by subject. The shelf mark of the collection political science starts with the indication POLWET.  Journals are placed in alphabetical order. Shelf marks and information on availability and loan policy can be found by searching the Catalogue. A list of shelf marks is available in the library.

Recent acquisitions are in a display case near the desk of the library. Study materials are placed in separate bookcases behind the desk and can be used only in the library. Except for reference works and study materials, most books can be borrowed at the desk of the library. Books from other collections like the University Library and the Law Library can be requested via the Catalogue.

Catalogue: the full text of many e-journal articles is available through the Catalogue.  

Frequently used databases for searching articles:

Political Science Abstracts is a bibliographic database that allows for searching articles in international journals in political science, international relations and public administration. It provides abstracts, citations and references for many articles.

Web of Science (WoS) is a frequently used bibliographical database, that is comprised of three different citation databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present). WoS contains abstracts of journal articles and books, references and citations.

Frequently used digital reference works:

The International Encyclopedia of Political Science is a comprehensive reference resource for political science and public administration. It covers every field of politics including entries on political theory and methodology, political sociology, comparative politics, public policy and international relations.

Oxford Handbooks Online: many handbooks in the field of political science, law, business and management, economics and finance are full text available on the platform of Oxford Handbooks Online. These handbooks can be searched simultaneously as well as individually.