Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Subject guide

History

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for historical research

Books and journals on historical subjects can be found at the main University Library. Reference works and other relevant books are available on the first floor. Please use the library catalogue to search for specific titles.

Reference collection in reading room

Important history handbooks and reference works are available for consultation on the first floor of the main library. Items from the reference collection can not be borrowed. However, it is possible to make copies or scans.

The reference collection is organized by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Book titles in the field of history are usually placed under subject code C,D, E and F in study room 3 and 4.  

Course Reserve Shelves

Course reserve shelves are located at the University Library on the first floor entrance 4.

Paper journals

Current issues of journals on history which are not available online are placed in the round journal cabinets at the entrance of the reading rooms 3 and 4.

Back volumes are located in the open stacks (located down the stairs next to the circulation desk). An alphabetical list specifies the exact location of journals. Some back volumes are placed in the closed stacks and can be requested through the catalogue. Paper journals which are also available online are placed in the closed stacks. Electronic journals can be accessed via the catalogue.

Featured: searching for articles

Historical Abstracts: This bibliography covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
 

Featured searching for articles

DBNG: This bibliography provides more than 200.000 titles and can be regarded as the general gateway to Dutch historiography.
 

Featured: searching for articles

The International Medieval Bibliography is a multidisciplinary bibliography of the Middle Ages, covering the period 300-1500 CE.