Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Subject guide

Public Administration

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Public Administration

Subjects
Public administration theory, Comparative public administration, Research methods, Governance, Political Administrative relations, Public sector management, Public sector reforms, Civil service systems, Public values and corruption, Public policy, Welfare state, Crisis and security management
Geographical Areas
Focus on the Netherlands and European Union countries

The public administration collection is placed in the closed stacks of the University Library. Loanable materials from the collections of the University Library, the Law Library and the Social and Behavioural Sciences Library can be requested through the Catalogue and delivered to all locations including the Wijnhaven Library in The Hague.

The Wijnhaven Library also has a collection of handbooks, reading list materials and reference works. These books can be used in the library only. The reference collection is organized by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC).

Catalogue: the full text of many e-journal articles is available through the Catalogue.  

Frequently used databases for searching articles:

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a bibliographical database that allows for searching articles in international journals in political science, international relations and public administration. It provides abstracts, citations and references for many articles.

Web of Science (WoS)is a bibliographical database, that consists of three different citation databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present). Web of Science contains abstracts of journal articles and books, references and citations.

Frequently used digital reference works:

The International Encyclopedia of Political Science is a comprehensive reference resource for political science and public administration. It covers every field of politics including entries on political theory and methodology, political sociology, comparative politics, public policy and international relations.

Oxford Handbooks Online: many handbooks in the field of political science, law, business and management, economics and finance are full text available on the platform of Oxford Handbooks Online. These handbooks can be searched simultaneously as well as individually.

This website uses cookies. Read more