Bachelor and Master theses of Leiden Universtity
As a rule, printed BA and MA theses were not included in the library collection. Starting 2010, BA and MA theses of the Faculties of Archaeology, Humanities, and Social and Behavioural Sciences are included in the Student Repository of the Leiden Repository. These theses are not included in the catalogue, but the titles can be found in Google Scholar.
If you are looking for an unpublished thesis it is advised to contact the secretariat of the department where the author of the thesis concerned has graduated.
The Social and Behavioural Sciences (FSW) Library collects printed theses, received before 2010, for a period of ten years. A list is kept at the lending desk. The Catalogue may also be searched for these theses by author or title words. For an overview of all FSW theses that can be found in the Catalogue, go to Catalogue / Advanced Search, then select Shelfmark and enter: pedag. scr., cultan scr., polwet scr., psycho scr., or b.s.k. scr. in the search window, then click Search.
Printed theses from Russian Studies written after 1999/200 are available at the Secretary's Office Russian and Eurasian Studies. More information (in Dutch) is available at the website of Russian Studies.
Theses written from the start of the nineties till 2009 at the Institute for History are listed in a thesis-database. Thesis titles can be browsed by subject and then narrowed down by author, title or supervisor’s name. The theses are not available for viewing or lending.
Bachelor and Master theses of other Dutch universities
Scripties Online (under construction): facility to make MA theses of departments within the Dutch higher education available online. This database among others contains theses of the following universities: Delft, Eindhoven, Groningen, Rotterdam, Tilburg, Utrecht and the Open University.
UvA Scripties Online: in this database the UvA theses are available publicly and in full-text. The database was started in October 2004.
Online Scriptiedatabase (VU): database with a growing number of VU theses. The theses may be downloaded free of charge. This database was started in October 2007.
Catalogus scripties Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen: this catalogue contains references (no full-text) to theses of Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen which are included in the libraries of Radboud Universiteit Nijmegen. Not all theses are included.
Leiden PhD theses
Recent PhD theses (from approximately 2005 on) by Leiden PhD students are available digitally through the Leiden Repository. The site offers free access to these PhD theses. However, in some cases a thesis may be under embargo temporarily and access to its full-text version will only be granted later.
All Leiden PhD theses are included in the Catalogue, file tab Leiden Collections. To find a PhD thesis of which you have already obtained title and/or author, it suffices to simply type this information in the search field, and click SEARCH.
To find a Leiden PhD thesis on a specific subject choose Advanced Search in the Catalogue and fill in your subject in one of the search windows. Narrow down your question by typing dissertation in a second search field.
Dutch PhD theses
Recent PhD theses (from approximately 2005 on) from all universities in the Netherlands are available digitally through NARCIS, a database with free access. However, in some cases also here a thesis may be under embargo temporarily and access to the full-text version of the thesis may only be granted at a later date.
For paper versions of Dutch PhD theses that cannot be found in the Catalogue we like to refer to PiCarta. In this database the holdings of all Dutch university libraries and the Koninklijke Bibliotheek may be found. Access to Picarta is granted only with a ULCN account and matching password.
International PhD theses
Many recent scientific publications, including PhD theses, are offered full-text in repositories on the internet, free of charge. The websites mentioned below offer access to collections of repositories:
The British site OpenDOAR (The Directory of Open Access Repositories) offers access to more than 1500 repositories world-wide. All included repositories have been reviewed and approved by OpenDOAR staff members. The site maintains a user-friendly interface.
OATD (Open Access Theses and Dissertations) is a resource maintained by several US University Libraries, for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. OATD tries to index only graduate-level theses and dissertations that are freely available to download, they leave out closed-access and embargoed ETDs.
The British site ROAR (Registry of Open Access Repositories) also offers access to repositories world-wide, but, contrary to OpenDOAR, is filled automatically.
OpenAIRE (Open Access Infrastructure for Research in Europe) gives an overview of, and offers access to more than 8.000.000 of Open Access publications from 460+ data providers, with links to funding, datasets and more.
DART-Europe is a webportal that provides access to more then 360.000 scientific dissertations from more then 500 European universities. DART stands for Digital Archive of Research Theses
Through the Catalogue (tab Find Databases) you are offered access to the following databases of PhD theses:
China Dissertations: contains full-text PhD theses from 1999 on. Access only with a ULCN account and matching password.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses: A&I: database with data (not full-text, but abstracts) of mainly North American PhD theses beginning in 1637. It is possible to order the full-text on payment. Access only available with a ULCN account and matching password.