Subject guide
Cultural Anthropology
Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Cultural Anthropology
- Last updated
- June 2023
- Subjects
- The Cultural Anthropology collection is closely connected to research and education of the Institute of Cultural Anthropology and Development Sociology of Leiden University. Subjects are: development, environment, gender, global economy, global politics, anthropology of media, and material culture.
- Materials
- E-books, e-journals, databases with images, video, reference and source materials, printed books and a few printed journals.
Location
The collection printed books and journals is partly placed in open stacks at the Social and Behavioural Sciences Library, and partly in closed stacks of the University Library and the Van Steenis Building. All books can be requested by using the Library Catalogue and will be delivered at the location of preference.
The collection in the Library of Social and Behavioural Sciences is arranged by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Titles on Anthropology are mostly placed in category GN.
Prescribed course readings are set aside on course reserve shelves behind the desk of the Library. These books cannot be borrowed but are available for reading in the library, for photocopying and scanning.
Databases Cultural Anthropology
Find our databases on Cultural Anthropology in the catalogue.
To the catalogueSearching for articles
Anthrosource of The American Anthropological Association
Annual Reviews with analytic reviews on Biomedical and Social Sciences
JStor with articles on Humanities and Social Sciences
Web of Science with articles on all disciplines in journals with large academic impact
Areas and subjects
The Catalogue of Leiden University Libraries contains the collections of the African Studies Centre (ASC), Royal Netherlands Institute of Southeast Asian and Caribbean Studies (KITLV), KERN (South Asia), East Asian Library (China, Japan, Korea) and ISIM (Islam).
International African Bibliography Online
Connecting Africa (African Studies Centre Leiden)
Online reference works
The International Encyclopedia of Anthropology
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Anthropology (Open Access)
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences, 2nd edition (2015)
SAGE Research Methods Online: on quantitative and qualitative research methods
eHRAF World Cultures (Human Relations Area Files)
Streaming video
International dissertations
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses with dissertations and MA theses from the US and other countries, since 1997 fulltext.
OpenAIRE Explore with dissertations from The Netherlands, Europe and international. Also includes other research output as research data and research software.
Datasets
StatLine (Central Bureau for Statistics of the Netherlands)