Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Subject guide

Find Journal Articles

The UBL provides access to an endless collection printed and online journal articles

You can search for articles in the Catalogue via the All Content tab. This tab contains links to the full text articles from a number of databases that the library provides access to. Please take not that not all articles to which the library gives access can be found via All Content! For a complete overview always search in different sources.

Are you looking for a specific article and don't get results in All Content? Then go to Leiden Collections tab and look for the related journal title. Click Online Access for access. Sometimes you get a screen after which you can make a choice for access through different suppliers. Then always look carefully at the publication year of the article before making your choice.

If you want to search for journal articles within a certain subject, use a bibliographic database. An overview of databases related to your field can be found in the Subject Guides.

A number of databases contain the full-text of journal articles. Press the GetIt button next to or near the abstract of an article for access. If you can't find the GetIt-button or a database doesn't contain full-text, then look in the Catalogue whether or not the UBL owns the journal in a printed version (search for the title of the journal) or check WorldCat if the journal is available at another university library.

UBL Get Access

UBL Get Access is a browser extension that provides access to articles when browsing the web.

Leiden Search Assistant

The Leiden Search Assistant makes it easy to search the UBL Library Catalogue, Google Scholar, PubMed and WorldCat at the same time from within any web page.

Google Scholar Library Link

Google Scholar collects citations and open access pdf's of academic articles and books. Install the Google Scholar Library Link for direct access.  

Get quick access to your favourite academic e-journals on your tablet or PC with the free app BrowZine.

Can't find a journal article available through the UBL? Then make a request at another University Library or the Royal Library. 

Then contact one of our Information Specialists through ask-a-librarian.

This website uses cookies. Read more