Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Subject guide

Dutch studies

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Dutch language and culture.

Subjects
Contemporary Dutch literature (collection M.N.L.); historical linguistics and literature, teaching methodology, Frisian and South African Dutch
Materials
Novels, monographies, reference works and journals

The paper collection on Dutch Studies is located in the University Library. Most of the books are in closed stacks and can be requested through the Catalogue.

The Department  of Dutch Language & Culture also owns a small library (website available in Dutch). To find the location of individual titles, please use our Catalogue.

Reference collection in the reading room

On the first floor you can find a collection of reference works in this discipline. Items from the reference collection cannot be borrowed, but it is possible to make copies or scans. In the reference collection you will find:  

  • Dictionaries
  • Reference works and bibliographies on Dutch linguistics and language acquisition
  • Primary and secondary literature for a selection of authors and periods (bibliographies, anthologies, collected and single works)
  • A small selection of Afrikaans language and literature
  • Journals

The reference collection is organized by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Book titles in the field of Dutch studies are usually placed under the following subject codes:

DH History of the Low Countries. Benelux Countries
DJ                     Netherlands (Holland) history
PF 1-979 Dutch language
PF1001-1184 Flemish language
PF1401-1541 Friesian language
PT5001-5547 Dutch literature: periods and genres
PT5555-5581 Individual authors or works
PT6000-6467 Flemish literature since 1830
PT6500-6593 Afrikaans literature


Printed journals

Current journal issues in the field of Dutch Language and Culture which are not digitally available are placed in the round journal cabinets at entrance of reading room 8. Back volumes are located in the S-UB (basement, stairs next to the information desk). An alphabetical list specifies the exact location of journals. Some back volumes are placed in the closed stacks and can be requested through the Catalogue.

Bibliografie van de Nederlandse Taal- en Literatuurwetenschap (BNTL) is the most complete bibliography of articles and books in the field of Dutch and Frisian language and literature.

Digitale Bibliotheek voor de Nederlandse Letteren (DBNL) is an extensive corpus of texts, with primary and secundary literature on Dutch language and literature.