Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Subject guide

Classics

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Classics

History
Emphasis on Greek religious history, socio-economic history of the Roman Republic and empire, Greek epigraphy and Asia Minor.
(Neo-)Latin language and literature
For linguistics purchase for language acquisition; for literature acquisition of (critical) text editions, commentaries and studies on authors. Emphasis on rhetoric & aesthetics, drama, epic, lyric & elegy and historiography. Neo-Latin literature focuses on poetry and scientific literature from the 14th to the early 16th century in the Low Countries, Germany and Italy
Greek language and literature
Linguistics: emphasis on syntax & text linguistics, semantics & lexicography, and the history of linguistics. Acquisition for Literature focuses on (critical) text editions, commentaries and studies on authors, with an emphasis on epic, drama, historiography, orators and philosophical and scientific literature.

The physical collection Classics is located in the University Library. Most books are in the closed stacks and have to be requested via the Catalogue. On the reading room floor near entrance 5 (Greek and Latin) and 6 (Papyrology and remaining Latin collection) you will find a reference collection in this discipline. A very extensive research collection on Greek and Demotic Papyrology is located at the Papyrological Institute.

To find the location of individual titles, please use the catalogue.

Reference collection

The reference collection of Classics contains approximately 8,000 titles on classics. The collections focuses on Greek and Latin language and literature.The reference collections also contains titles on ancient history and archaeology, especially on epigraphy. Items from the reference collection can not be borrowed, it is possible to make copies or scans. Please note: the passage between the halls near entrance 5 and 6 is closed.   

In the reference collection you will find:

  • Reference works and bibliographies sorted by subject
  • Primary and secondary literature for a selection of authors
  • Loeb Classical Library

The reference collection is organized by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Book titles in the field of Classics  usually have following subject codes:

B   Classical Philosophy
CC   Archeology
CN   Epigraphy
CJ   Numismatics
DE 1-100 Mediterranean Region. Greco-Roman World
DF 1-500 Ancient Greece
DG 1-400 Ancient Italy. Rome to 476
N   Art of the Classical Period
PA 1-8595 Classical Languages and Literatures


Collection at the reading room Papyrology

At the Reading room Papyrology near reading room 6 you can find our collection on Greek documentary papyrology among other text editions of Greek papyri and ostraca and secundary literature. Please note: the collection Papyrology follows its own LCC, apart from the Library collections.

Printed journals

Current issues of journals in the field of Classics which are not available online are placed in the round journal cabinets at the entrance to reading room 6. Back volumes are generally located in the S-UB (basement, stairs next to the information desk). Journals in the Closed Stacks can be requested through the Catalogue.

L'Année Philologique is the most complete bibliography for classical antiquity.

Library of Latin Texts is the best digital corpus of Latin texts, with almost all of the classical literature.

Loeb Classical Library: editions of Greeks and Latin texts with an English translation and commentaries

The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae is the best digital corpus of Greek texts, with all of the classical literature.

Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina
Re-publication in electronic format of the Latin texts published in the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana (until 1997). This BTL contains the full text of the editiones maiores, without critical apparatus and praefatio. Included are works from 300 B.C. until 800 A.D.

Archive of Celtic Latin Literature
A cd-rom with more than 400 works from Celtic areas of Medieval Europe (400-1200 A.D.)

New Pauly is the encyclopedia for all aspects of classical antiquity.