The collection Russian Studies is largely located in the closed stacks of the University Library. A reading room with a reference collection of the Slavic, Baltic and other East European languages is available on the first floor of the Library. The most important printed journals are placed in the S-UB (basement, stairs next to the information desk). The shelf place of a specific title can be identified in the Catalogue.

Reference collection in the reading room

The reference collection of the Slavic and Baltic languages is arranged according to languages. The reading room also contains books on the Baltic languages (Latvian, Lithuanian, Old Prussian). These reference books can’t be borrowed, but it is possible to make copies or scans. The reference collection comprises:

• general reference works, such as bibliographies, encyclopedias, dictionaries and handbooks
• grammars and major studies on a variety of Slavic languages
• outlines of the literature of individual languages
• primary and secondary literature of a selected number of authors
• collected works of major Russian authors
• catalogues of Slavic manuscript owed by other libraries (also in the reading room of Special Collections).

The reference collection is organized by the Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Books in the field of Russian Studies are usually placed under the following subject codes:

CyberLeninka: Russian Open Science Library

Russian National Corpus: a corpus of the modern Russian Language incorporating over 300 million words

Online Dictionary of the Russian Language: online version of the dictionary of Sergej Ožegov

Frequency Dictionary for Russian: a free online frequency list for modern Russian by Serge Sharoff

Fundamental Digital Library of Russian Literature and Folklore: text and audio-visual materials on Russian literature, folklore and the history of Russian literary scholarship and folklore studies

Electronic Library of the Institute of Slavic Studies of the Russian Academy of        Sciences: digital monographs and periodicals (e.g. Slavjanskij Al’manax, Judaic-Slavic Journal and the Slavjanskoe i balkanskoe jazykoznanie)

Electronic Library Im Werden: a huge collection of freely available digitised Russian books

Russian Birch Bark Manuscripts: materials based on the Новгородские грамоты на бересте (НГБ) series that were published between 1953 and 2015

Akniga: Russian audiobooks: classics, children's books, adventure stories and other genres

Onlajn-Kinoteatr Mosfilm: free online Russian Films

Raam op Rusland: all relevant information needed to understand the current situation in Russia (in Dutch)

Osmikon: the research gateway on East, Eastern-Central and South-Eastern Europe