Subject guide
Law
Overview of databases, reference works and websites for Law
- Subjects
- Dutch law, Comparative law between Dutch law and international law, especially comparison of European, Belgian, German, French, British and American systems of justice
- Disciplines
- Civil Law, Civil Procedure, Private International Law, Juvenile Law, Notarial Law, Corporate Law, Financial Law, Intellectual Property Law, Anglo-American Law, Public International Law, European Law, Immigration Law, International Legal Studies, Air and Space Law, Social Law, Constitutional and Administrative Law, Criminal Law and Procedure, Law and Digital Technologies, Jurisprudence, Moot Court, Philosophy of law, Legal History, Law, Governance and Society in Asia, Africa, the Middle East, Europe and North America, Economic Law, Tax Law and Business Administration
- Languages
- Dutch, English, French, German, Indonesian and Russian
The Law and Criminology collection can be found in the Law Library in the centre of the Kamerlingh Onnes building (KOG). The collection of the Law library is mostly placed in open stacks. A limited number of books and journals have been placed in the closed stacks of the University Library. The location of individual books and journals can be traced in the Catalogue.
The books in the open stacks are arranged by discipline and subject and have a country code when applicable. Bound journals are arranged according to number. Current issues of Dutch journals are shelved alphabetically in open display. Course literature, frequently used handbooks, reference works, journals and books marked with a red sticker are not lendable.
Find our databases on Legal Literature in the catalogue.
To the catalogueFind our databases on Case Law in the catalogue.
To the catalogueFind our databases on Legislation, Treaties and Official documents in the catalogue.
To the catalogueHeinOnline: database of US, Canadian, UK, international and other legal publications. It is arranged in collections called “libraries”. These include a law journal library; world constitutions; legal classics; United Nations Law Collection; US legislation and cases; Foreign & International Law Resources Database and World Treaty Library.
Oxford Scholarly Authorities on International Law: contains full-text online editions of reference works and treatises published by Oxford University Press, such as Oppenheim and the Oxford Commentaries on International Law.
Max Planck encyclopedia of public international law (MPEPIL): this encyclopedia is a comprehensive analytical resource covering the entirety of public international law
WestlawNext: database of publications from the UK, the EU and the US. It includes books, cases, journals, legislation and treaties.
Collected courses of the Hague Academy of international law: The Hague Academy Collected Courses are the most important encyclopedic publication on private and public international law.