Journalism and New Media
Overview of databases and reference works for research in journalism and new media.
- Last update
- June 2023
- The collection Journalism and New Media is closely connected to research and education within the Media Studies program of Leiden University. Subjects are: mass media, internet journalism, social media, visual communication, visual culture, visualization, statistic data in the media, crime in the media, political communication and science communication
- The collection contains e-books, e-journals, databases, printed books and a few printed journals
The collection Journalism and New Media is mainly placed in the closed stacks of the University Library. In the reading rooms on the first floor a freely accessible reference collection is available with handbooks and key studies. These books cannot be borrowed, but copying and scanning is possible.
Reference works for Journalism and New Media can be found in the sections HM (information and communication, room 4), P (mass media, room 5) and PN (journalism, room 8).
Find our databases on Journalism and New Media in the catalogue.To the catalogue
Frequently used databases for searching articles are:
Communication & Mass Media Complete (maximum of 5 users at the same time)
MLA International Bibliography: articles on language and literature
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (1 user at the same time)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts: on library- and information science, but also many articles on new media
Web of Science: articles on all disciplines in journals with large academic impact
Factiva: international newspapers and some Dutch newspapers
Nexis Uni: Dutch and international newspapers and magazines
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: the archives of The New York Times, The Guardian and other important newspaper
Delpher (in Dutch): the archives of Dutch national, regional, local, and colonial newspapers from the National Library of the Netherlands
The International Encyclopedia of Journalism Studies (Wiley-Blackwell 2019)
International Encyclopedia of Communication (Wiley-Blackwell 2008-...)
Encyclopedia of Language & Linguistics (Elsevier 2006)
Encyclopedia of Information Science and Technology (Information Science Reference 2015)
SAGE Research Methods Online (Sage Publications): quantitative and qualitative research methods