Newspaper articles (International)
Recent international newspaper articles are mostly available through Factiva. This includes articles from many newspapers outside the west. Historical newspaper articles are available in various other databases (see below). Note that it is not always possible to find digital versions of newspapers in the Leiden catalogue. Use the search functionalities of the portals below to be sure what is and what is not available.
For specific information about searching for newspaper articles in the various regions across the word, see the respective subject guides.
Proquest Historical Newspapers contains full-text of:
- The Guardian (1959-2003); London (UK)
- The Irish Times (1859-2010)
- The Manchester Guardian (1821-1825; 1828-1959); Manchester (UK)
- The Manchester Guardian and British Volunteer (1825-1828); Manchester (UK)
- New York Daily Times (1851-1857); New York, N.Y.
- New York Times (1857-1922; 1923-2007); New York, N.Y.
- The Observer (1791- 2003); London (UK)
- The Washington Post (1877-1954; ); Washington, D.C.
- The Washington Post (1923-1954; 1974-1994); Washington, D.C.
British Newspapers 1600-1900 contains:
- The 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers: the largest collection of English newspapers from the 17th and 18th centuries. This collection contains full-text of newspaper articles, pamphlets and books, compiled by Rev. Charles Burney (1757-1817).
- The 19th Century British Library Newspapers collection contains full-text of 48 British newspapers, selected by the British Library.
Search National UK Newspapers: search engine that searches UK national and regional newspapers by information specialist Phil Bradley.
Chronicling America: this site makes digitized newspapers (of those published between 1836 and 1922 in the US) available through the National Digital Newspaper Program. It also includes a separate searchable directory of US newspaper records, describing more than 150,000 titles published between 1690 to the present and listing libraries that have physical copies in microfilm or original print.
Indonesian digitized newspapers: A number of Indonesian newspapers and magazines are available in digital (pdf) format. Due to copyright restrictions these newspapers are only available on Leiden University workstations.
ZEFYS: access to digitized German historical newspapers.
Free digital archives: many newspapers offer the opportunity to search their digital archives through their website. Sometimes even complete archives of various newspapers are available though the Internet, free of charge. You will find an overview of these newspapers on: Kranten-Historische-Startpagina, onlinenewspapers.com or the List of online newspaper archives (Wikipedia).
Recent issues of several foreign newspapers can be consulted in the UB-Lounge in the Huygens Information Centre. The issues are kept for one month. Foreign newspapers in the collection of Leiden University Libraries can be found through our Catalogue, advanced search, file tab Leiden Collections.
Factiva International Newspapers
Factiva International Newspapers offers articles from sources from a large number of countries in their original languages. The starting year differs per title, varying from as early as the beginning of the nineties through 2004. Factiva is updated up to the publication of the previous day. Every day, Factiva selects a limited number of articles for each news source. It is not always clear how Factiva selects news sources and articles. For this reason, prudence is in order when using the database.
Searching in Factiva can be done in two ways:
- Simple search. Use the search bar at Factiva’s homepage. After searching, you may refine your results by selecting organisations (‘companies’) and sources. Note that only English-language results are shown, even when searching for keywords in different languages.
- Advanced search. Click Search and then Search Builder. This search method provides more possibilities, such as searching for specific news sources. It also allows you to find results in other languages than English. Note that English is set by default as the language of the results.
Pay attention to the following:
- When searching for articles in foreign languages, make sure that the keywords you use are in the corresponding language.
- You may use search operators in advanced search. For this, see the manual or click “Query Genius” in the upper-right corner.
- Factiva shows results from 1969, but of most news sources only the last couple of years are covered. Do not expect Factiva to provide a representative overview of journalism worldwide since 1969.
- Factiva changes its coverage regularly and provides monthly updates with added and removed sources in an Excel file.
- A list of sources can be found in Content Watch.
Factiva also provides an extensive official manual.