Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Subject guide

Liberal Arts & Sciences

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Subjects
Economics, public health, history of science, philosophy, academic writing, rhetoric, history, environmental science, globalisation
Geographical areas
Europe and the United States
Chronological span
20th and 21st century

The collection for Liberal Arts and Sciences is as diverse and interdisciplinary as the study programme itself, containing handbooks and introductions in the fields of European studies, economics, public health, global security, academic writing, rhetoric, environmental science and globalisation. Many relevant sources can also be found in the library collections of political science, philosophy, law, history, linguistics, and anthropology.

LUC students and staff also have access to the extensive digital collections of the university library, which offers around 40.000 e-journals, 1.000.000 e-books and 500 databases.

Publications from the various UBL locations may be borrowed at the Wijnhaven Library The Hague by requesting them using the Catalogue (choose ‘Campus Den Haag’ as a pick-up location). The collection shelved at the Wijnhaven itself may only be used within the library.

Web of Science (WoS) is a frequently used bibliographical database, that is comprised of three different citation databases, including the Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 to present). WoS contains abstracts of journal articles and books, references and citations. 

Factiva contains full text articles from thousands of international newspapers and journals. 

Philosopher's Index (EBSCO): references to journal articles, books, and book chapters on logic, philosophy of science, history of philosophy, ethics, aesthetics, epistemology, metaphysics, philosophy of social science, history, law, religion.

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is a bibliographic database that allows for searching articles in international journals in political science, international relations and public administration. It provides abstracts, citations and references for many articles. 

Oxford Handbooks Online: Economics and Finance brings together the world’s leading scholars to write review essays that evaluate the current thinking on a field or topic and make an original argument about the future direction of the debate.

Project Muse is a collaboration between libraries and publishers providing 100% fulltext and online access to over 380 high quality humanities and social sciences journals from over 60 scholarly publishers.

This website uses cookies. Read more