Universiteit Leiden

nl en

Subject guide

Ancient civilizations

Overview of databases, reference works and websites for research in Ancient Civilizations

Subjects
Egyptology, Mesopotamia and Anatolia (Assyriology), Hebrew and Aramaic languages and cultures

Collections on the ancient Near East are mainly purchased by the NINO library. The holdings of the UBL on this subject are therefor limited. All publications available at the NINO library are included in the Catalogue. The University Library has a small selection of standard reference books and dictionaries available, mainly for consulation when the NINO library is closed. The UBL is responsible for the procurement and management of the digital collection in this area.

In the field of Hebrew, Aramaic and Old Testament the university is well equipped. The largest part of this collection is located in the closed stacks and can be requested through the Catalogue. In the reading rooms a reference collection is available.

The reference collection is organized by Library of Congress Classification (LCC). Titles on the Old Mediterranean world are mostly placed in section B (religion) in reading room 2, and the section Language and Literature P in reading room 7 under the following codes:

BM Judaism
BS the Bible
PJ Oriental Languages

Rambi: bibliography in the field of Jewish Studies

Encyclopaedia Judaica: extended encyclopedia for Jewish Studies 

Encyclopedia of the Bible and It’s reception Online: encyclopedia on the origins and development of the Bible according to its different canonic forms in Judaism and Christianity. EBR also documents the history of the Bible’s reception in literature, art, music, and film; as well as in other religious traditions

Online Egyptological Bibliography (OEB): the most important bibliography in the field of Egyptology

Egyptology resources: web portal for Egyptology of the Fitzwilliam Museum Cambridge

JStor: portal for e-journals

Abzu/ Etana: guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world

Abzu/ Etana: guide to networked open access data relevant to the study and public presentation of the Ancient Near East and the Ancient Mediterranean world

Cuneiform digital library initiative: document transliterations, text glossaries, digitized originals and photo archives of ancient languages using the cuneiform script.